What are my voter rights and registration requirements?
For questions about voter rights and registration, please visit the Vermont Secretary of State’s Voter Registration FAQ.
When are taxes due?
Tax payments are due in two equal installments; the first in September and the second in February. In the current tax year, the payments are due September 10, 2020 and February 10, 2021. Taxpayers only receive one bill for both payments. Payments must be made on or before the due dates to avoid 1.5% monthly interest charges and, in the case of the second installment, an additional 8% penalty. If you are mailing your payment, please allow enough time. Dropping your payment in the outside mailbox at the Pawlet Post Office the day taxes are due no longer means we will get it that day. Postmarks are allowed, but if the taxes are not received within five days of the due date, a late fee will be assessed.
How can I get a copy of my tax bill?
Please stop by to get a copy of your bill from Town Treasurer Julie Mach during regular office hours at the Town Hall.
Does my dog have to be licensed in the town?
Vermont law requires all dogs over 6 months old to be licensed with the town clerk. Owners must present a current rabies certificate to the town clerk by April 1 each year. If the dog has been spayed or neutered, the certificate for that must also be presented to pay a reduced license fee. Before April 1 the fee for spayed/neutered dogs is $9 and $13 for dogs that have not been spayed/neutered. After April 1 the fees increase to $13 and $19, respectively.
How do I get a civil marriage license?
Civil Marriage Licenses are $45.00 and once issued are good for 60 days. Applying for a civil marriage license is not an issued license. A license will be prepared by the Town Clerk once the application is submitted. Residents of Vermont must apply in the town that one or the other applicant resides. Out of state applicants may apply to any town in Vermont.